Getting Laid

Always getting confused in the middle of asking somebody to lie down with you?

Lay and lie are confusing, in part, because lay is the past tense of lie.  Remembering the distinct definitions for the two and understanding the difference between transitive and intransitive verbs can help a lot.

Lie means to recline or rest.  It is an intransitive verb.  That is, it does not need a direct object.

My sexual tastes lie somewhere between kinky and vanilla.

Please, darling, lie down so I can make love to you!

Lie’s other tenses are: lay, lain, and lying.

He lay with his legs splayed, like he expected something more.

She has never lain in that bed.

The orgy devolved into a lot of people lying around.

Lay means to put or place.  It is a transitive verb.  That is, it requires a direct object: something must be placed or put.

I will now lay the dildo on the towel.

If you’ll lay yourself on that cot, I will be right back with the lube.

Lay’s other tenses are: laid, laid, laying.

He laid the condom in the palm of his lover’s hand.

We had laid down guidelines for safe sex practices.

I’m laying rose petals all over the sheets for you.

Now you are wondering how to use the vulgar slang terms, aren’t you? They are nouns.

I am hoping to get laid tonight.

You are one heck of a hot lay!

Pride 2009, San Francisco

    • Dawnie Dee
    • November 3rd, 2009

    I’m not going to lie, I would lay my cape over a mud puddle so you could pass by! Now, back to my previous activity, which included lying around dreaming up new scenarios for my NaNoWriMo novel!! Great work, KLB!

  1. November 24th, 2009
  2. December 30th, 2011
  3. July 12th, 2012
  4. July 12th, 2012

Leave a Reply

