La Jolla Writer’s Conference

Sometimes it’s hard to be a writer among other writers, but I know it’s even worse to be isolated as an artist. That’s why next weekend I’m going back to my roots, to San Diego, to attend the La Jolla Writer’s Conference.

LJWC is a friendly little conference, and I intend to use it as a creative incubator for my own writing as well as the many projects I support as a teacher, coach, collaborator, and editor.

Attending a writer’s conference as a teacher and a student, an editor and a writer, opens up many opportunities. I can both contribute and learn. I expect to improve my query letter writing skills and meet people in the publishing industry. I also know that I’ll enjoy inspiring stories from writers who make their living writing and get a chance to network with writers and writing industry pros.

A writer’s conference can feel like going home for any writer because it offers such writing creature comforts. For me, this conference offers that experience in more ways than one. Since the novel I’m writing next takes place in San Diego, I’ll be exploring the home of the characters I’m creating now. Since this is my dad’s conference of choice, I’ll be spending writing intensive time with the man who taught me to write. And because San Diego is my home of origin, I’ll be walking the beaches I walked as a teen.

I strongly recommend this conference and writing conferences in general to any writer. You may be surprised at what you find and what you learn. I know that sometimes it is hard going back to your roots, but I also know that it’s harder to be an artist without them.

1974, La Mesa, CA

    • Terrie Billuni
    • November 2nd, 2009

    Congratulations on such a huge undertaking. I am very impressed. Can’t wait to see you Friday. Love, Mom

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

