NaNoWriMo Day 3

Word Count Goal: 7143

Current Count: 4387

Some sound NaNoWriMo advice: Tell everyone you know that you are doing this, and tell them well before November starts. Otherwise, you may be tempted to give up on day two.

Only the threat of public shame defended me yesterday against my sense of defeat on Day Two. I woke up and typed for about 45 minutes and promptly lost whatever I had written in a battery meltdown.

I worried all morning about how I would survive November if my laptop had a battery problem.

I struggled to find inspiration while I sat with my laptop on my hour-long train commute.

I struggled again on the train ride home and even fell asleep with my face against the window.

Finally, with some encouragement from my wife, I spent a few hours organizing my notes and my outline. And I’m feeling inspired.

Raise Your Right Hand

    • Eric
    • November 3rd, 2009

    Don’t give up, Kristy. Or if you do, only give up for a little while, then start up again.

    If your battery gives out, something else will come along, even if it’s spending time at the library. 🙂

    And for the record, I wouldn’t be disappointed if you did give up. The vast majority of people will never even try this. 😉

    • Kat
    • November 3rd, 2009

    Blond! I’d say you were inspired. May the bleaching agents unleash a flood of words…

  1. Thanks for your undying support, Eric. I continue to feel much gratitude to NaNoWriMo for reuniting us.
    Kat, that is an archive photo from Valentine’s weekend 2004 when gay wedding fever hit San Francisco. I thought the pledge pose appropriate for my me today–renewing my vows to my inner writer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

