NaNoWriMo Day 5: Gratitude

Word Count Goal: 11905

Current Word Count: 8958

Living the uber-heady, type-o-matic novel-in-a-month experience creates a surreal sense that I am just a brain and ten fingertips. But I am much much more than that, and it takes more than a good outline and a stopwatch to survive NaNoWriMo.

I’m so thankful for people around me who are not writing novels this month and who gently remind me that I have a body and I live in a place.

To my wife first, for the preparation, exquisite plating, and service of several nutritious and inspired meals. Also for the sex. And the beautiful home. And for watering the plants. And packing our bags for a weekend away.

To Daniel, for baking cookies.

To Dorothy, for pointing out my not-sustainable behaviors, sticking little needles in all the right places, and forcing me to nap.

To John, for stretching me.

To Michal, for a fabulous new cut and color. (Sorry, I can’t get pics to work this morning!)

To Joe, Rene, Erin, Shaily,  and especially Dawnie D for making space for me with your joyful flexibility.

To my three delightful Stanford students for partnering with me for a powerful physical, emotional, intellectual, and scientific learning experience.

To my Mom, Dad, brother, sister, niece, and the organizers of the La Jolla Writer’s Conference for pulling me away from my life and my project this weekend to bask in family and home for a couple days.

Because a blob of brains and ten fingertips is just not sexy.

    • Gaby
    • November 6th, 2009

    Hi Kristy!
    I love your blog! Super cool!
    Since I’m a EL your grammar tricks help a lot…..

    Wishing you the best,
    Gaby

  1. Hi Gaby! Thanks for reading. More grammar tricks to come–just as soon as I get through this crazy November writing marathon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

