NaNoWriMo Day 17: 33,333

It looks like such a Biblical blog post title, doesn’t it? That little colon stuck between the numbers. All those threes. It’s not. It’s just my word count goal for the day.

But the novel–yes, it is Biblical. There are tambourines, ravens, miracles, prophets and prophetesses, and people speaking in tongues. I’m writing historical fiction this time–not dating back to Biblical times but to a time when my life was much more Bible-oriented: the mid-’80s.

And maybe that’s my struggle. I’ve reached back in my life for inspirational fodder, and I’ve reached  back quite a bit further than I ever have before. And perhaps that’s the same thing as reaching deeper.

Whatever it is, the story has finally begun to flow. The characters have finally begun whispering their secrets to me. The daily word count goals have become reasonable. Just fifteen hundred more to go for today, and that’s nothin’ but a thing.

    • Kat
    • November 19th, 2009

    Brilliant! Sounds like it is gettin good to you…

    • iamMOON
    • November 20th, 2009

    Hurray! I see you coming down the track! Today is the first day of the rest of your life!

  1. The groove feels great, doesn’t it? Eight more days to go–how’re you doing?

  2. Thanks, Kat, Drew, and Moon– The groove does indeed feel wonderful.

  1. November 8th, 2011

Leave a Reply

