NaNoWriMo Day 23: Perseverance

So many elements of this year’s NaNoWriMo have been different from last year.

Last year, I had not yet discovered Facebook and Twitter. Both these social media outlets are wonderful sources of support to me this time around. It’s great to feel lots of eyes on that word count (45359 today, thank you very much).

But more importantly, I have learned challenging lessons this year.

NaNoWriMo 2010 2009 Lesson #1: You don’t have to be inspired. Sometimes the notion of mighty, godlike inspiration can turn into an excuse not to write. Writing for writing’s sake, not because I have a brilliant idea, is difficult. But doing it has greatly improved my writing practice.

NaNoWriMo 2010 2009 Lesson #2: You don’t have to be disciplined. Don’t roll your eyes at me–it’s true. I have not written every day. I have fallen out of my daily, early-morning writing ritual. I have been LAZY. But I am still going to finish this thing.

NaNoWriMo 2010 2009 Lesson #3: You don’t have to be organized. Okay, this one I learned last year. But since I had challenged myself to come up with a real plot this time around, I thought I needed a sense of organization before I began. I didn’t get it together. I started on November 1 with no idea how I was going to get my heroine from the fabulous opening scene I had imagined to the wild ending I’d cooked up. But still, I filled in the blanks.

All you really have to do is persevere, tell yourself and everyone you know that you are writing a novel, and then write it, no matter what, and you will reap the benefits, which include:

  • a community of creativity supporters
  • massive creative productivity
  • a love affair with writing for writing’s sake
  • bragging rights
  • a body of work that may be a foundation for something brilliant

Convinced? Planning to join me in November 2011 2010? I sure hope so!

  1. November 1st, 2011

Leave a Reply

