Good Writing and Respectful Confrontation

Because I edit writing for a living, a lot of people ask me questions about how to define good writing. I avoid these questions because I’m not interested in judging writing. I’m interested in writing that communicates the writer’s intent. I’m interested in communication.

Joe Weston is interested in communication too. A fine communicator, actor, writer, inspirational speaker, teacher, lecturer, facilitator, trainer, coach, consultant, and author, Joe leads amazing communication workshops focused on Personal Fulfillment, True Power, Respectful Confrontation, and Lasting Peace. He’s also the founder of Heartwalker Studio.

Joe has explored the connection between communication and intention, especially the way in which human communication can bring real, everlasting peace to earth–a lofty pursuit indeed, one that should interest all writers in all genres.

You can learn some of what Joe knows about communication in his two-and-a-half day program, Respectful Confrontation, next month at Heartwalker Studio in Oakland.Β  I’m going because I want to know how to express myself productively, as a writer, a teacher, a coach, and a friend.

Here are the details:

February 5 -7, 2010: Friday. 7 pm – 10 pm, Saturday & Sunday 9:30 am – 6 pm
$295 Sign up now!

And when his book comes out, we can say we knew him when . . .

    • Eric
    • January 7th, 2010

    A writer and an author?
    Regardless, sounds interesting. πŸ™‚

  1. Well, they are not *exactly* the same, are they?

    • Eric
    • January 7th, 2010

    There is a hint of sarcasm in my earlier comment, to that I will admit. But, I’ve also been thinking about it this afternoon as well.
    In my exposure to the words, a person describes themself as a writer, but is described by others as an author. That is to say it is this way more often than not, but not all the time. Also, the phrase “published author” comes to mind when I read “author”. πŸ˜‰

  2. Agreed. You are a writer of many novels and an author of a blog, for instance. I can’t wait until you are also the author of your many novels!

    • Eric
    • January 7th, 2010

    I was the author of a blog; I guess it’s time to bring that back into the present tense. πŸ™‚

    Before I become the author of novels, I must first learn to be the rewriter of novels. πŸ˜€

  3. Once a blogger, always a blogger, I say. Event the longest-abandoned blog needs only a little attention to get on its feet again!

    And yes, before I become the author of a novel, I must do some rewriting too. Have you done much revision to any of your NaNo novels?

    • Eric
    • January 8th, 2010

    True enough. I’ve had long lapses before. I’ve just been doing other stuff with my daily writing time. πŸ™‚

    One of my NaNo novels has not even been looked at again, ironically, it was probably best written, or at the least, the most consistent. But, I’ve lost interest in the story for now. the other two, wll some chapters have been rewritten, but I keep getting discouraged. The endings for both were, shall we say, sucky. πŸ™‚ I haven’t started rewriting the most recent, because I haven’t finished writing it. I left several chapters blank in my writing process because they followed a character that I needed to research before writing about, and I didn’t want to ruin the NaNo flow. I’m finishing those chapters up now – an hour a day combined research and writing time. πŸ™‚
    When I’m finished with this novel, I’m going back to the first two with a box of red pens. I’ve already got them printed out. They’re my motication to finish the current project.

  4. This is really fun talking about our novels in the comments section of a post that had nothing to do with novels! Ha!

    I’m so impressed with your daily hour commitment! Presently, I am enjoying feedback from 25 readers who read my 2008 NaNo novel. Once I’ve talked to everybody, I will have revision work–lots of it. I have not yet peeked at what I created in November 09.

    • Eric
    • January 9th, 2010

    I am ambivalent about letting someone read my NaNo work. It’s so bad, but that’s okay because it’s a rough draft, done in the roughest of ways. πŸ™‚

    I did allow my second one to be partially read (she lost interest I guess). I got feedback such as, “it’s an interesting story”. I’m sure she didn’t want to hurt my feelings, but it ended up being a waste of time for both of us.

    • Kat
    • January 21st, 2010

    Hi Kristy,

    Do you have and it’s/its blog?

    If not, I am anxiously awaiting its/it’s arrival!

    If so, how do I search for it? I tried clicking “Grammar Tricks”…

    Kat

    • Kat, It’s a pleasure to have your enthusiasm, and I will get right on its requirement: a blog post that covers where to put that pesky apostrophe.

      In the future, you should have no problem finding grammar topics by keyword over there on the right in the tags cloud.

      Eric, I understand how you feel. I don’t even want to read 09’s NaNo novel myself, but I am having a fine time hearing feedback from folks who’ve been kind enough to read my 08 effort. I think it’s fair to take some time dressing up your baby before you show her to even your dearest friends.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

