Stupid Sexy

Yesterday, I walked into my local Diesel store, determined to buy something for myself because their current advertising campaign has been catching my eye and making me smile. Besides, I like Diesel’s style, even if their size chart caters to skinny bitches

When I introduce myself, I make a decision about whether to identify as a sex educator or an editor, and I make that decision based on whether I’m in the mood for a high-brow conversation or a low-brow one.

 

If I say I’m a sex educator, the conversation is likely to get silly and giggly, rather intellectually flat. If I talk about writing, we end up talking about books or grammar rules, showing off our educations.

Sex or writing? Low-brow or high-brow? Stupid or smart?

 

Maybe we try a little too hard to be smart about writing. Maybe we try too hard to sound smart when we write. Maybe,when we’re stuck and cannot write, it would help to indulge a little in the stupid. That’s what I like about the Diesel Be Stupid campaign: I think it speaks some truth.

 

So, when you’re writing, try being a little more stupid and see if it gets your pen flowing and your keyboard tapping. Draw a stupid, silly picture. Write a ridiculous, dumb rhyme. You might find yourself moving forward.

 

And while you’re at it, try getting a little smarter about your sex too.

I didn’t buy anything yesterday at Diesel. Nothing else besides the advertisements in that place fit me–not the jeans, not the prices. I may be the perfect target for their ad campaign, but I’m not their target buying market.

    • Eric
    • February 25th, 2010

    Do you think writers go all high-brow because they are trying to sound legitimate? I think a lot of writers who are unpublished feel a bit silly telling others they are a writer and feel that they must “prove” their worth or claim to the occupation.

    I wonder how many folk who speak of the high-brow aspects of writing also downplay the creative/artistic aspects of writing?

    “Hello. My name is Eric and I’m a writer. I write silly stories that entertain me as I go about writing them.” I’ve tried using this line, or one very similar to it. You can still go high-brow if you want after it, but you can go silly as well. 🙂

  1. Yes, Eric, I do think that’s the case. Most of the writers who work with me will admit that they almost never “come out” as a writer to their friends. It’s one of the first bits of homework I often assign a writer: tell everyone you’re a writer.

    And yes, I think we go high-brow to avoid some of the creative truths, that writing can feel like wallowing in the mud or playing patty cake.

    Thanks for coming out on my blog, Eric. And thanks for keeping it silly.

    • Eric
    • February 26th, 2010

    At a party several years ago for a very upscale client of my wife’s, I was outed. 🙂 She told everyone that I was a writer before I had a chance to do something else, like run and hide. I must admit that I went highbrow with a couple of the folk, but once I hit on a shared love of beat poetry with an architect, we went for the silly. I haven’t looked back since.

  2. Oh so fun to be outed! Sounds like it really was a good experience for you. I’m so glad to have at least one reader out there who appreciates the silly/stupid side of writing!

    Thanks, as always, for reading and commenting, Eric!

    • Eric
    • March 1st, 2010

    Without the sill/stupid stuff, I wouldn’t have any writing at all. 😉

  3. Ha! Same here!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

