Day 1: What is this and why do I do it?

Today’s Word Count Goal: 2950

Today’s Word Count So-Far: 1018

Total Word Count Goal: 50,000

 

NaNoWriMo is an annual, global endeavor where writers support each other to write 50,000 words in 30 days.

What I’ve done in previous years is increase the required daily page count in order to not write on weekends and be done before Thanksgiving. That means 200 pages in 17 days or about 12 pages a day.

Sound crazy? It’s my favorite kind of crazy. This will be my third year participating, and the exhilarating experience of watching a novel grow from zero to fifty-thousand words inspires me. I will get more done at home, connect more with my loved ones, and be more productive at work because I am tapping my potential this month.

I had time for just an hour of writing this morning before running off for a busy day. I’ll need another couple hours to make today’s goal, but I’m off to a good start. I’m looking for good pigeon-watching roosts around the city. If you know of one, please post!

Watch the Sexy Grammarian participate in National Novel Writing Month for the third year in a row. I’ll post word counts and worries here daily, Tweet about it, raise funds for the Office of Letters And Light, and host Meet Me/Tweet Me open loft writing sessions all month long.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

