Day 11: The Magical Darkness

Today’s Word Count Goal: 32,450

Today’s Word Count So-Far: 18,782

Total Word Count Goal: 50,000

It’s struck, the dark magic of NaNoWriMo. It has fallen like the darker, longer nights have fallen upon us. I started to feel it Tuesday, the creeping up of something fierce and powerful in me, a side of myself I see only when I immerse completely in a creative project.

I am defensive and protective. If you look at me funny or talk to me for longer than is necessary, I might lash out and accuse you of taking time away from my art.

I’m like Gollum with his Precious. Anyone around might be trying to steal it.  The man who sold me my crepe Tuesday morning bore the psychic brunt of my creative boiling. Stop talking to me! I need to go write! Give me my crepe! Don’t ask me so many stupid questions! Just give me my crepe and leave me alone! You are trying to sabotage my writing time! I can only hope he wasn’t very tuned in to my mean spirited internal dialogue.

 

Watch the Sexy Grammarian participate in National Novel Writing Month for the third year in a row. I’ll post word counts and worries here daily, Tweet about it, raise funds for the Office of Letters And Light, and host Meet Me/Tweet Me open loft writing sessions all month long.

    • Eric
    • November 12th, 2010

    I would have read this post so I could comment on it, but I have the sneaking suspicion that is some kind of trick to keep me from getting any writing done… 😉

  1. Ha! Eric! NaNoWriMo is making you suspicious! Don’t let anybody distract you! Protect the precious!

  1. November 17th, 2011

Leave a Reply

