Day 15: Halfway There

Today’s Word Count Goal: 32,450

Today’s Word Count So-Far: 25,000

Total Word Count Goal: 50,000

 

“I’m only behind on being ahead,” I declared to the wife last night.

“Wow, Kristy. Just wow,” she said, laughing.

She’s laughing at my logic, my word-count excuses.

“But it’s true,” I argue, and enter my latest count into the tiny box in the upper right-hand corner of the NaNoWriMo website. Today is day fifteen, so to be just exactly on schedule, I should have 25,000 words, halfway there. And that’s where I am. Not behind.

But I try to plan ahead, to be done by Thanksgiving and not write on weekends. I try to be an over-achieving WriMo.Β  On those goals, I am behind, way behind.

So yeah, shooting for the stars in order to stand half a chance of landing on the moon–it works for me as a writer. Does it work for you?

 

Watch the Sexy Grammarian participate in National Novel Writing Month for the third year in a row. I’ll post word counts and worries here daily, Tweet about it, raise funds for the Office of Letters And Light, and host Meet Me/Tweet Me open loft writing sessions all month long.

    • Eric
    • November 15th, 2010

    Half way at half way? πŸ™‚ Strong showing. Personally, I’ve always found that the second half is easier to write, as long as I keep my inner editor tied up and held securely in complete darkness.

    You’re going to be at 50k before you know it. πŸ˜€

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

