NaNoWriMo Day 1: I’m a WriMo R U 2?

NaNoWriMo 2011, day 1

Today’s personal word-count goal: 3,333

Today’s actual word-count so far: 0

Ahead or behind? Behind! 3,333 words to go today!

Years I’m Writing About: 1972-1975, on my Facebook Page you can contribute your own words about these years.

Since 2008, I’ve participated in National Novel Writing Month, an international annual event where participants compete to see who can write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. The event is open to all, so if you’re even a little curious, don’t hesitate to join me. And if you want to sit this one out and watch first, keep an eye on my blog this month, where I’ll chronicle the harrowing adventuresperseverance, experiments, and triumphs just as I have in past years. Today, I’ll embark on my 4th NaNoWriMo–not because I have another stunning novel concept in mind but because I’m hooked.

November’s become a time in my creative year where I can count on the momentum of an online community to push me to race-write for 30 days, to prioritize writing for 30 days, to trust in future drafts and thoughtful editing in order to convince myself to write, uncensored and unbridled, and as fast as I can. The yearly exercise makes me a better writer.

This month on the blog, I’ll write about the inspiration for this year’s endeavor–a memoir to celebrate my upcoming 40th birthday, mine my own stories for new fiction ideas, and review my life so far in order to set goals for the next forty years.

I’ll also keep you updated on my word-count race, so you can cheer when I’m ahead and sympathize when I fall behind. Or you can follow my word count on my Twitter feed, my Facebook page, or by befriending me in the NaNoWriMo online community.

And of course, I’ll share the play-by-play emotional roller coaster of a writer gone mad, writing wildly and without care for thirty glorious days.

Get a piece of the action. There are several ways to participate in NaNoWriMo. Support the do-gooders who run this free event online by making a donation to the Office of Letters and Light on my fundraising page. And visit the The Sexy Grammarian Facebook Page to contribute your own words to my daily word count.

  1. Go Kristy GO! I love hearing about your process because the idea of writing so much seems so daunting. So proud that you are doing it again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

