Wordsmith: Dear Sexy G

Dear Sexy Grammarian-

I just learned from dictionary.com that wordsmith is a noun and not a verb.  Is that right?  I always thought it was both, like e-mail.

Yours truly,

Esther

My Darling Esther,

I too think of wordsmith as a noun, a words expert. But sure, it’s acceptable (if modern) to turn it into a verb:

I’ve written a love letter, but I want to wordsmith it to make it sexier.

You could even make it an adjective by adding -like:

He wanted to seduce the librarian, so he used his most wordsmith-like vocabulary.

Yours,

The Sexy Grammarian

Frequently, a client or online fan shares a burning grammar question, and I always post answers here on the blog.  If you have a question, don’t hesitate to write to me. Looking for more attention? Get affordable, project-focused private lessons in person or via Skype or email.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

